The Bookseller – News – 2023 Romantic Novel Awards shortlist revealed

The Romantic Novelists’ Association (RNA) has announced the finalists for this year’s Romantic Novel Awards, as well as the winner of the Popular Romantic Fiction Award for 2023.

The award categories are: Fantasy Romantic Novel Award, Jackie Collins Award for Romantic Thrillers, Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award, Christmas/Festive Holiday Romantic Novel Award, Shorter Romantic Novel Award, Romantic Saga Award, Jane Wenham-Jones Romantic Comedy Award, Historical Romantic Novel Award, Contemporary Romantic Novel Award, and Popular Romantic Fiction Award. Librarians, booksellers, and bloggers/book reviewers vote for their favorites.

Authors vying for this year’s award include Christina Courtenay for fantasy romance Hidden in the mists (Headline Review), Sarah Yarwood-Lovett for her romantic thriller A murder of crows (Embla Books), Anita Faulkner for her debut A colorful country estate (Sphere) and Diane Allen for her romantic saga A son of the valleys (Pan Macmillan). The complete list of category lists can be found below.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony in London on March 6. Author Jo Thomas will host the ceremony; Sara-Jade Virtue, director of brand development, fiction, for awards sponsor Simon & Schuster UK, will present the Jackie Collins Award for Romantic Thrillers; RNA President Katie Fforde to Present the Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award; and actor Peter Davison will present the rest of the awards.

Writer Heidi Swain, who won the Popular Romantic Fiction Award for her novel A Christmas party (S&S), will also receive his award at the ceremony.

Previous winners of the awards, which have been held since 1960, include Santa Montefiore, Joe Heap, Julie Cohen and Milly Johnson. Jean Fullerton, President of the RNA, said: “Once again, our lovely reader-judges had the near-impossible task of crafting award lists from what is an incredible number of page-turning novels. Thankfully they did, and I can only say that this year’s selected books are the crème de la crème of romantic fiction.

Sharon Ibbotson, Coordinator of the RNA Awards, added: “Our genre continues to go from strength to strength, delivering escapism, joy and delightful romance on every page. Our handpicked books, voted for by true everyday readers, are a testament to the mastery of words and the dedication of their authors, with whom we congratulate you today.

The full list of 2023 categories and related lists are:
The Romantic Fantasy Novel Award
Hidden in the mistsChristina Courtenay, Securities Review
I let you fallSara Downing, Quilla Books (TCK Publisher)
Skip to the endMolly James, Quercus
ImpossibleSarah Lotz, HarperCollins
The echo of the oceanEverina Maxwell, Orbit UK

The Jackie Collins Award for Romantic Thrillers

Cold silenceToni Anderson, Independent
Six daysDani Atkins, Aria (Head of Zeus)
My other husband, Dorothy Koomson, Review of Securities
The serial killer’s girlfriendLH Stacey, Boldwood Books

A murder of crowsSarah Yarwood-Lovett, Embla Books (Bonnier Books UK)

Katie Fforde’s debut romantic novel award

The love of my other lifeCJ Connolly, Joffe Books
A colorful country estateAnita Faulkner, Sphere
Twelve days of MayNiamh Hargan, HarperCollins
Always by your sideJulie Haworth, Simon and Schuster UK
From fake to foreverLaila Rafi, Orion Dash

The Christmas/Holiday Romance Novel Award
This year is for you and meEmily Bell, Penguin Michael Joseph
Merrily foreverCathy Bramley, Orion Fiction

Christmas with his ballerinaJessica Gilmore, Mills & Boon True Love
Snowed for ChristmasSarah Morgan, headquarters
Santa, bring me a boyfriendSophie Ranald, Bookouture

Award for the shortest romantic novel

The Count’s Mysterious LadyLouise Allen, Mills & Boon historian
Summer at Seaspray CottageAngela Britnell, Choc Lit
The forbidden love of the saleswomanJenni Fletcher, Mills & Boon historian
Their surprise safari reunionElla Hayes, Mills & Boon True Love
Stranded with My Forbidden BillionaireLucy King, Mills & Boon Modern

The Romantic Saga Award

A son of the valleysDiane Allen, Pan Macmillan
A new beginning for the WrensVicki Beeby, Canelo
London girlsSoraya M. Lane, Lake Union Publishing
Courage for Cornish girlsBetty Walker, Avon
A Mother’s WarMollie Walton, Welbeck Publishing Group

The Jane Wenham-Jones Award for Romantic Comedy

Great sexual expectationsKristen Bailey, Bookouture
Play for loveJeevani Charika, Digital Headquarters
The woman who riskedFiona Gibson, Avon
Take a chance on GreeceEmily Kerr, Another Chapter
A wedding in Sandy CoveBella Osborne, Avon

The Historical Romance Novel Award

A postcard from CapriAlex Brown, HarperCollins
The tailor’s secretLorna Cook, Avon
The legacy of Halesham HallJenni Keer, title accent
The Three Lives of Alix St PierreNatasha Lester, Sphere
Before sunriseEmma Pass, Aria (Head of Zeus)

Prize for the contemporary romantic novel

The little shop of hidden treasuresHolly Hepburn, Simon and Schuster UK
A cottage full of secretsJane Lovering, Boldwood Books
Cornish Clouds and Silver Lining SkiesAli McNamara, Sphere
Elodie’s second chance libraryRebecca Raisin, Digital Headquarters
Finding happiness at Heritage ViewHelen Rolfe, Boldwood Books

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *